About Us Tourist Visa And E-Tv

Nationals of following countries are eligible for Tourist visa on arrival :

Citizens with valid passports of the following countries may apply for an Indian e-Tourist Visa.

Albania, Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, China – SAR Hong Kong, China – SAR Macau, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malta, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Russia, St. Christopher & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & The Grenadines, San Marino, Samoa, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Tonga, Turks & Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

e-Tourist Visa (eTV)

e-Tourist Visa Scheme

1. e-Tourist Visa can be granted to the following foreigners who are passport-holders of any of the countries covered by the e-TV Scheme : Persons holding an Icelandic Passport can from 25 February 2016 apply for e-Tv.

  • whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit etc. and no other purpose/activity;
  • who do not have a residence or occupation in India;
  • who hold a passport with a minimum validity of six months and a re-entry permit, if that is required under the law of the country of nationality of the applicant;
  • who is a person of assured financial standing (the production of a return ticket/onward journey ticket and availability of sufficient money to spend during his stay in India may be considered sufficient for this purpose);
  • who is not a persona-non-grata to the Government of India;
  • who is not considered an undesirable person;

2. Procedure for applying for e-TV

  • In order to avail of the facility of e-Tourist Visa, the foreign national concerned shall mandatorily fill in the application online on the e-Tourist Visa website https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa/tvoa.html
  • The Visa applications are cleared in 72 hours and an e-TV authorization is sent to the email ID provided by the applicant. The visitor is expected to travel to India with this authorization and a passport with a minimum remaining validity of six months. In view of the 72 hours taken for clearance, visitors are expected to apply for e-TV at least 4-5 days before the day of their journey to India. The e-Visa will be processed and issued electronically and sent to the traveler via email.
  • Because the India e-Tourist visa is issued on-line; it is not necessary to submit an original passport or other documents for processing, though the traveler must have an original, valid passport. A scanned copy is sufficient for the e-Visa to be processed. Simply complete and submit the online request form and the Indian visa can be processed online. Then once the traveler arrives in India, biometric information (scans of fingerprints) will be taken at the airport the original visa will be stamped inside the passport. The application must be submitted and approved before traveling to India.

3. Entry Points

  • International travelers who are eligible for eTV may obtain their Indian tourist visa on arrival at entry of the following 16 international airports in India.
  • Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bengaluru, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Tiruchirapalli, Trivandrum, and Varanasi.
  • Travelers do not have to exit India from the above listed airports; they may exit India from any authorized Immigration Check Post in India.

4. Validity

An e-Tourist Visa will be valid for entry and stay in India within the period of its validity, subject to the conditions specified. The Immigration officer may grant a single entry e-Tourist Visa valid up to 30 days to the passport-holders of the countries covered by the e-TV Scheme. e-Tourist Visa may be allowed for a maximum of two times in a calendar year to a foreigner.

5. Conditions for e-Tourist Visa.

e-Tourist Visa can neither be extended nor converted to any other kind of visa during the visa-holder’s stay in India exept:

(a) e-Tourist Visa may be converted to ‘X’ (Entry) Visa if a foreigner who has come to India on an e-Tourist Visa marries an Indian national during the validity of his/her e-Tourist Visa

(b) e-Tourist Visa of a foreigner who falls ill after his/her entry into India rendering him/her unfit to travel and who requires specialized medical treatment may be converted into a Medical visa if he/she is eligible for the grant of Medical Visa and a medical certificate is obtained from a government/ICMR recognized hospital. In such cases, e-Tourist Visa of the attendant accompanying the foreigner (whose e-Tourist Visa is converted into Medical Visa) may also be converted into Medical Attendant [Med X] visa co-terminus with the Medical Visa of the foreigner.

Note : On conversion of an ‘e-Tourist Visa’ into ‘X’ visa/ Medical Visa/ ‘Med X’ Visa, the following endorsement shall be made on the Passport/ Residential Permit ‘Employment/Business not permitted’)

6. Fee for e-Tourist Visa

A fee of US $60/– or equivalent amount in Indian rupees per passenger (including children), is currently being charged from each foreigner for the grant of an e-Tourist Visa.

7. Repeat visits

e-Tourist Visa may be allowed for a maximum of two times in a calendar year to a foreigner.

8. Diplomatic/Official passport holders

The e-Tourist Visa facility shall not be available to holders of Diplomatic/Official passports.

9. Assistance on applying for eTV

  • Applicants requiring help may call the helpline number ( +91-11 – 24300666 ) or send an email to indiatvoa@gov.in for any queries in connection with applying for eTV.
  • The eTV facility is in addition to the existing Visa services being provided through Indian Embassies and Consulates. Traditional Indian tourist visas can also still be issued, the e-Visa is simply one option. Traditional visas are stamped inside the traveler’s passport by the Indian Consulate in the traveler’s country of residence, and these visas are valid for a longer period of time and allow multiple entries. The Embassy can assist you to apply for a traditional Indian visa if this is better suited to your needs.